The Board comprises up to nine directors who are appointed, in accordance with sections 17 and 77 of the Primary Industries Research and Development Act 1989 (the PIRD Act), as follows:

  • The Chair is selected and appointed by the Minister
  • The Managing Director is selected and appointed by the Board on terms and conditions determined by the Board.
  • The other directors are appointed by the Minister on the nomination of a selection committee. The Minister appoints the selection committee based on the nominations of the FRDC's representative organisations.

List of current Directors

  • The Hon. Ron Boswell - Chair
  • Dr Patrick Hone - Managing Director

           A selection process for FRDC Board positions is underway. Details of new Directors will be updated once the process is finished.

Directors are selected based on their expertise in one or more of the following fields:

  • commodity production,
  • commodity processing,
  • commodity marketing,
  • conservation of natural resources,
  • management of natural resources,
  • science,
  • technology and technology transfer,
  • environmental and ecological matters,
  • economics,
  • administration of research and development,
  • finance,
  • business management
  • communication
  • government policy and public administration.

Directors are appointed for a term not exceeding three years. The Executive Director, holds office at the Board´s pleasure. All directors other than the Executive Director are appointed on a part-time basis.

The Hon. Ron Boswell: Chair

Appointed as Chair 1 September 2016.

Ron Boswell represented the Nationals in the Australian Senate for Queensland from 1983 to 2014 and led the party in the Senate from 1990 to 2007. In 2008 he became Father of the Senate.

Over the course of his political career Ron was the leader of the National Party in the Senate from 10 April 1990 to 3 December 2007, holding many positions in the Coalition shadow ministry including Shadow Minister for Regional Development and External Territories (from September 1988 to April 1990), Shadow Minister for Northern Australia and External Territories (April 1993 to May 1994) and Shadow Minister for Consumer Affairs (May 1994 to December 1994). Boswell was appointed Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Transport and Regional Services in July 1999 but left the position in October 2003.

Ron is a strong advocate for Australia’s primary producers and improving their productivity and profitability based on the best knowledge available.

Dr Patrick Hone: Managing Director

Appointed Managing Director from 21 April 2005

Patrick Hone is Managing Director of the FRDC and a member of the National Marine Science Committee. Patrick has extensive knowledge of all sectors of the fishing and aquaculture industries. He has more than 20 years working for the FRDC and has played a key role in the planning, management and funding of fishing and aquaculture related research, development and extension in Australia. In recent years Patrick has become one of Australia’s leading spokespeople on the role of marine science.

Patrick has a PhD from Adelaide University, and previously worked for SARDI on a wide range of aquaculture research for Southern Bluefin Tuna, Pacific Oysters, mussels, Yellowtail Kingfish and abalone.