New South Wales Research Advisory Committee


The New South Wales Research Advisory Committee (NSW RAC) formerly the NSW FRAB, is an Australian Government statutory authority that was established by the FRDC in March 2016 under the Primary Industries and Energy Research and Development Act 1989 (PIRD Act).

The expertise-based committee is comprised of a membership group with expertise in wild catch (commercial and recreational), aquaculture, post-harvest and indigenous sectors along with industry representative organisations.

The NSW RAC maintains responsibility to a core set of stakeholders that include the commercial fisheries, aquaculture, indigenous and seafood management sectors as well as the FRDC Board, FRDC various partner groups and the wider research community.

2018 Second Call for Applications Closed 16 June 2018

The State and Territory RACs, in conjunction with other FRDC Partner groups (IPA's and Subprograms), have released the first open call for applications to be evaluated in 2018. The following priorities have been identified as priorities to this RAC. Note that some priorities are applicable to multiple jurisdictions - for the full list of priorities download them here.



  • Peter Dundas-Smith – Chair
  • Craig Aspinall
  • Tricia Beatty
  • Troy Billin
  • Natalie Moltschaniwskyj
  • Erik Poole
  • Bruce Schumacher
  • Emma Wilkie
  • Michael Wooden

Priority list:

Call for applications

Stakeholder workshops


FRDC Management Contacts:

Skye Barrett – Executive Officer (M 0419 935 945; E skye.barrett@frdc.com.au)

Leah Fergusson – Secretariat (M 0402 422 605; E leah.fergusson@frdc.com.au)


Meeting dates:

  • Thursday 4 October 2018
  • Wednesday 17 April 2019
  • Thursday 11 July 2019
  • Thursday 31 October 2019


Associated IPAs:

Australian Council of Prawn Fisheries IPA

Abalone Council of Australia IPA 

Australian Barramundi Farmers’ Association IPA -

Australian Prawn Farmers’ Association IPA

Oysters Australia IPA 


Related projects are listed below