South Australia Research Advisory Committee


The FRDC places considerable emphasis on the advice of the South Australian Research Advisory Committee (SARAC) in prioritising the need for RD&E activities and assessing the quality of science and alignment with South Australia’s industry and broader government (i.e. fisheries and aquaculture management) and hence community needs and opportunities and the FRDCs national RD&E Plan.

2018 First Call for Applications Now Open

The State and Territory RACs, in conjunction with other FRDC Partner groups (IPA's and Subprograms), have released the first open call for applications to be evaluated in 2018. The following priorities have been identified as priorities to this RAC. Note that some priorities are applicable to multiple jurisdictions - for the full list of priorities download them here.

Implications of Gulf St Vincent Productivity Loss: Developing Tools to Optimise Multi-Fishery Management in a Changing Environment


Development of Aboriginal Traditional Fishing Data Collection Techniques


Fisheries Biology of Western Australian Salmon: Improving our Understanding of Population Dynamics to Enable Quantitative Stock Assessment and Improved Fisheries Management


Using New Technologies to Monitor Fishing for Sharks and Rays and Encourage Modified Angler Behaviour


Further Improvement of King George Whiting Hatchery Techniques for Aquaculture Development and Investigation of Strategies to Ensure Sustainable Harvest of this Species in South Australia


Seal-Fisher-Ecosystem Interactions in the Lower Lakes and Coorong: Understanding Causes and Impacts to Develop Longer-Term Solutions




  • Don Plowman – Chair
  • Gavin Begg
  • Bart Butson
  • David Hall
  • Brian Jeffriess
  • Gloria Jones
  • Graham Mair    
  • Sean Sloan
  • Tony Smith
  • Paul Watson     


Priority list:

Call for applications

Stakeholder workshops


RDE plan:

SA RAC Research, Development and Extension Plan 2017-2022


FRDC Management Contacts:

Chris Izzo – Executive Officer (M 0419 852 723; E christopher.izzo@frdc.com.au)

Alison Connelly – Secretariat (M 0437 694 485; E alison.connelly@frdc.com.au)


Meeting dates:

SARAC meeting no. 7 – 13 March 2018

SARAC meeting no. 8 – 31 July 2018

SARAC meeting no. 9 – 30 October 2018


SARAC meeting no. 10 – 12 March 2019

SARAC meeting no. 11 – 30 July 2019

SARAC meeting no. 12 – 29 October 2019


Associated IPAs:

Australian Council of Prawn Fisheries IPA  

Abalone Council of Australia IPA  

Australian Abalone Growers Association IPA

Australian Southern Bluefin Tuna Industry Association IPA

Oysters Australia IPA

Southern Rock Lobster IPAhttp://frdc.uat.frdc.com.au/Partners/IPA-groups/SRL