The FRDC works with its stakeholders to achieve the requirements of their RD&E plan through Advisory Groups (Partnerships).  These advisory groups can be at the jurisdiction level (RACs) or sector level (IPAs), and provide key information to the FRDC on the prioritisation and assessment of research.  Additionally, the FRDC will develop subprograms to provide a higher level of coordination, integration and communication for areas of national significance.  Each of the FRDCs current RACs, IPAs and Subprograms are described below. 

Each year the FRDC holds a workshop with key advisory groups to set the priorities for the coming year and future funding rounds. Details and presentation from the workshop are available on the Stakeholder Workshop page.

Research Advisory Committees (RAC)

The FRDC supports a network of Research Advisory Committees (RACs) located in each state and the Northern Territory. The RACs have an extremely important role in maximising the efficiency of the FRDC's planning and funding process.

The role of the RAC includes:

  • developing a strategic jurisdictional 5 year RD&E plan (to align with the FRDCs RD&E plan), and annual mechanisms to enact those plans, taking into account other strategic plans and priorities developed by other RACs, Subprograms, coordination programs and IPAs; so as to encourage collaboration and co-funding of projects
  • being responsive to the RD&E needs of stakeholders within each jurisdiction
  • promoting the best scientific methods
  • ensuring that RAC RD&E priorities are balanced across the programs of the FRDC RD&E plan and contain a mix of basic and applied RD&E
  • maintaining a strategic direction and being responsive to changing circumstances
  • setting RD&E priorities to maximise the opportunities of investment to meet identified priorities, avoid duplication and achieve the greatest potential return
  • inviting RD&E applications to address identified priorities
  • providing investment advice on the RAC allocated budget and expenditure against it
  • promoting collaboration between researchers, fisheries managers, and industry, both within, and among, jurisdictions
  • considering other RD&E funding opportunities
  • communicating regularly with potential beneficiaries through existing networks and FRDC communication channels
  • influencing the adoption of RD&E results
  • assessing project stop/go points
  • providing reports to stakeholders in the jurisdiction regarding RAC activities
  • providing reports on RAC activities to the FRDC for inclusion in the FRDC’s annual report

For further information regarding Research Advisory Committees (RACs) see - RAC Managment procedure, Application for membership of Research Advisory Committee form, FRDC committee member's code of conduct, FRDC confidentiality agreement.

The RAC contacts are listed below:

COM RAC Peter O’Brien Chris Izzo Allan Hansard
David Smith
Ian Cartwright
Hayley Abbott
Keith Sainsbury
Gordon Neil
Clayton Nelson
Owen Li
Peter Trott
Renee Vajtauer
Simon Nicol
M: 0419 852 723
NSW RAC Peter Dundas-Smith  Skye Barrett Tricia Beatty
Matthew Wassnig
Mark Boulter
Brad Warren
Bruce Schumacher
Troy Billin
Natalie Moltschaniwkyj
M: 0419 935 945
NT RAC Rik Buckworth   Skye Barrett Katherine Winchester
Tristan Sloan
David Crook
Natasha Stacey
Heidi Mumme
Bryan McDonald
M: 0419 935 945
QLD RAC James Fogarty   Skye Barrett John Gavel
David Bateman
Eric Perez
Warwick Nash
Rachel Pears
Ross Quinn
Peter Jackson
M: 0419 935 945
SA RAC  Don Plowman  Chris Izzo Sean Sloan
David Hall
Graham Mair
Gavin Begg
Tony Smith
Paul Watson
Bart Bustson
Gloria Jones
Brian Jeffriess
M: 0419 852 723
TAS RAC Ian Cartwright  Chris Izzo Mark Nikolai 
Caleb Gardner
Greg Woodham
Julian Harrington
John Sansom
Mick Hortle
Rich Little
Hilary Revill
Sean Riley
Emma Lee
M: 0419 852 723
VIC RAC Peter Rankin  Chris Izzo Andy Moore
Mark Gervis
Allison Webb
Craig Fox
Josiah Pit
Kirsten Abernethy
Simon Branigan
Mike Gilby
Russell Conway
M: 0419 852 723
WA RAC Brett McCallum   Skye Barrett ​Alex Ogg
Rick Fletcher
Aaron Irving
Leyland Campbell
Linda Williams
Morgan Hand
Greg Jenkins
Mat Vanderklift
M: 0419 935 945

See calendar for key RAC deadline dates

Industry Partnership Agreement (IPA)

IPA's are an agreement between the FRDC and a sector body to manage a suite of sectoral projects over a specified time period against an agreed industry strategic plan. The priorities and projects selected are generally identified by the industry body and are specific to its needs.


Abalone Council of Australia Ltd (ACA)

Dean Lisson -

​Joshua Fielding -

Australian Abalone Growers' Association (AAGA)

Nick Savva -

​Wayne Hutchinson -

Australian Barramundi Farmers' Association (ABFA)–

Chris Calogeras -

​​Wayne Hutchinson -

Australian Council of Prawn Fisheries (ACPF) -

Rachel King -

​​Crispian Ashby -

Australian Prawn Farmers' Association (APFA) –

Helen Jenkins -

​Wayne Hutchinson -

Australian Southern Bluefin Tuna Industry Association LTD (ASBTIA) –

Brian Jeffriess -

​Wayne Hutchinson -

Wayne Hutchinson -

​Jo-Anne Ruscoe -

Pearl Consortium

David Mills -

​Jo-Anne Ruscoe -

Southern Rocklobster Limited (SRL) –

Justin Phillips -

​Joshua Fielding -

Tasmanian Salmonid Growers' Association Ltd (TSGA) –

 Mick Hortle -

​Joshua Fielding -

Western Rock Lobster Council Inc (WRLC)

John McMath -

​Crispian Ashby -


Subprograms and Advisory Groups

On occasion, a planned research and development outcome could be more successful if a number of related projects were managed by employing higher levels of coordination, integration and communication. The FRDC either on its own initiative or at the request of a stakeholder group, can establish a managed subprogram. The subprogram contacts are listed below:


Mark Crane
P 03 5227 5000
CSIRO Australian Animal Health Laboratory
AAHL Fish Diseases Laboratory
Private Bag 24
Chris Calogeras
Chris Calogeras
P 0401692601
38 Lake Ridge Crt, Lake Macdonald, Qld 4563
Matt Barwick
P 0422752789
98 Galoola Drive
Nelson Bay, NSW 2315
Emily Ogier
M  0438 697 081  
IMAS Taroona Private Bag 49 Hobart TAS 7001
Jo-Anne Ruscoe
P 02 6285 0423
Locked Bag 222
ACT 2600

​New and Emerging Aquaculture

​Joshua Fielding

​Joshua Fielding

​P 02 6285 0421

​Locked Bag 222
ACT 2600